Plan My Umrah is the Trading name of Plan My Tour Ltd - We Offer Flights, Hotel Transfers Ziyarats, Visa, Rawdah Permit, Luxury, and Economical Packages for groups and individuals. We also provide 24/7 Local Support on the ground. For more details submit an enquiry then we contact you in no time.

The 4 Main Pillars Of Hajj and Umrah

Mar 15, 2024

Hajj and Umrah are two of the most significant and holy religious pilgrimages in Islam, performed by millions of devout Muslims from the world over every year. These acts of worship hold deep spiritual and historical meaning, as they trace the footsteps of the blessed Prophet Ibrahim and his family. Both Hajj and Umrah have specific rituals and pillars that every Muslim must complete to fulfil their religious duty.

The following explores in detail these four main pillars of Hajj and Umrah and provides a step-by-step guide on how to perform them correctly. It is a helpful guide for first-time pilgrims on their way to make these crucial journeys of faith.

The Four Main Pillars of Hajj

1. Ihram: The Sacred State of Pilgrimage

A pivotal pillar, Ihram marks the beginning of the sacred Hajj pilgrimage. It is a state of consecration during which pilgrims are required to wear specific garments and abstain from certain actions. As per the ordinance, men don a seamless white cloth, while women wear a simple, loose white dress that covers their entire bodies. The significance of Ihram is to symbolise the equality of all pilgrims before God, as the attire removes distinctions of wealth, social status, and nationality.

Upon entering the vital state of Ihram, pilgrims recite the Niyyah (intention) for Hajj and Umrah, stating their purpose and devotion to the Almighty. During Ihram, pilgrims are prohibited from engaging in various activities such as cutting hair, trimming nails, using perfumes, hunting, and engaging in physical relations.

2. Tawaf al-Ifaadah: Circumambulating the Kaaba

Tawaf al-Ifaadah is performed in Makkah (or Mecca) upon returning from the plain of Arafah during the Hajj. Pilgrims enter the Masjid al-Haram, the sacred mosque in Makkah, and perform seven circumambulations around the Kaaba, which is the most sacred structure in Islam. It is a physical manifestation of unity and devotion to the Almighty.

Pilgrims must start Tawaf al-Ifaadah by touching or pointing to the Black Stone (Hajr al-Aswad) if possible, which is a symbolic act of seeking forgiveness from God. The circumambulations are done in a counterclockwise direction, and pilgrims recite supplications and prayers during this entire process. Completing Tawaf al-Ifaadah is a significant part of the sacred Hajj journey, as it represents the unity of Muslims worldwide, encircling the Kaaba as one community.

3. Saee: The Ritual of Running

Saee is the act of walking or running seven times between the hills of Safa and Marwah, which are located near the Kaaba in Makkah. This ritual commemorates the search for water by the wife of the blessed Prophet Ibrahim, for her son Isma'il, and it symbolises the endurance and trust in the Almighty's providence.

Pilgrims begin Saee by ascending Safa and reciting prayers. Then, they descend and walk towards Marwah, where they repeat the process all over again. This back-and-forth movement between Safa and Marwah is performed a total of seven times. Saee serves as a reminder of the trials and faith of the Prophet’s wife and is a key element of both Hajj and Umrah.

4. Wuquf at Arafah: The Stand at Arafah

Wuquf at Arafah is the ultimate pillar of Hajj. Pilgrims must perform it on the 9th day of Dhul-Hijjah. Pilgrims gather at the plain of Arafah, where the blessed Prophet Muhammad delivered his farewell sermon. This specific day is a moment of profound spiritual significance and reflection in this pivotal journey of faith.

During Wuquf, pilgrims must stand in supplication and devotion, seeking the Almighty's forgiveness and mercy. They recite prayers, read the Quran, and engage in personal reflection and repentance. Wuquf at Arafah symbolises the Day of Judgment when all humanity will stand before God, and it underscores the importance of repentance and seeking divine forgiveness.

The Four Main Pillars of Umrah

1. Ihram: Initiating the Sacred State

Just like in the holy Hajj pilgrimage, Ihram is the initial step of the sacred Umrah journey. It signifies the intention to perform the holy Umrah and involves wearing the prescribed clothing, adhering to the specified rules, and abstaining from forbidden actions. The Niyyah is recited, upon which, the pilgrims enter the sacred state of consecration.

During Ihram, pilgrims must refrain from activities such as cutting hair, trimming nails, using perfumes, and engaging in physical relations. The emphasis here is on purification of the soul and maintaining a state of humility before God.

2. Tawaf: Circumambulating the Kaaba

Tawaf is the core of the blessed Umrah pilgrimage. Once inside the Masjid al-Haram in Makkah, the pilgrims perform seven rounds of circumambulation around the Kaaba in a counterclockwise direction. Tawaf is an unmistakable symbol of unity and devotion to the Almighty.

Pilgrims begin Tawaf by touching or pointing to the Black Stone if possible and then recite supplications and prayers while circling the Kaaba. It signifies the oneness of God and the unity of the Muslim community.

3. Saee between Safa and Marwah: Recreating Hagar's Journey

Similar to Hajj, Saee between Safa and Marwah is a mandatory ritual when performing Umrah. Pilgrims perform seven circuits between the two hills, Safa and Marwah, in remembrance of the blessed Prophet’s wife’s search for water for her son Isma'il. This act underscores trust in God's providence and serves as a testament to true faith and endurance. Pilgrims start by ascending Safa and reciting prayers, then descend to Marwah, repeating this process seven times.

4. Tahallul: Symbolic Hair Shaving or Trimming

The final pillar of Umrah is Tahallul, which involves shaving or trimming the hair. This symbolic act of purification represents the shedding of sins and the renewal of one's commitment to a pious life. Men typically opt to shave their heads completely during this stage. Meanwhile, women usually trim a small part of their hair.

Tahallul is a physical manifestation of the spiritual journey one undergoes during the sacred Umrah pilgrimage. It symbolises the shedding of one's old self and the emergence of a spiritually renewed individual.

In Conclusion

Hajj and Umrah are both intensely spiritual and meaningful pilgrimages in Islam. The four main pillars of each are essential components of these sacred journeys. Understanding and performing these rituals correctly is crucial for every Muslim seeking to fulfil their religious duty and attain spiritual growth. Through these pious acts of worship, Muslims not only connect with their faith but also strengthen their bond with God and the wider Muslim community worldwide, reinforcing the principles of unity, humility, and devotion that are at the very core of Islam.

Read Also: Difference between umrah and hajj

Live Chat